Fela Kuti Boxset

Release Date: 15th December 2017
Knitting Factory Records is proud to release the next installment of the long-awaited vinyl reissues from the Fela Kuti catalog. The inimitable Erykah Badu personally selected the seven albums featured in this fourth box set. 
Her selection includes her “favorite Fela Piece of all times,” 1980’s Coffin For Head of State, alongside Yellow Fever (1976), No Agreement (1977), J.J.D. (Johnny Just Drop) (1977), V.I.P. (1979), Army Arrangement (1984), and Underground System (1992). Says Erykah, “Fela Kuti is a Fucking Genius. Please listen to these tracks, preferably with a nice blunt.. with a nice slow burn.” 
There are only 3,000 copies of this limited edition box set, which comes with a 16”x24” poster designed by Nigerian artist Lemi Ghariokwu, the creative force behind 26 of Fela Kuti‘s album covers, and a 20-page full-color booklet. The booklet features seven personal essays written by Erykah Badu, seven in-depth commentaries by veteran music journalist and Afrobeat historian, Chris May; song lyrics; and never before published photos of Fela Kuti. The audio has been restored and remastered from Fela’s original Nigerian recordings. The artwork for each album has been meticulously recreated from original album artwork, alongside vintage vinyl label artwork. 
1) Yellow Fever
Side A: Yellow Fever
Side B: Na Poi '75
2) No Agreement:
Side A: No Agreement
Side B: Dog Eat Dog (Instrumental)
3) Johnny Just Drop (J.J.D.)
Side A: Part 1
Side B: Part 2
4) V.I.P
Side A: Part 1
Side B: Part 2
5) Coffin For Head Of State
Side A: Part 1
Side B: Part 2
6) Army Arrangement
Side A: Part 1
Side B: Part 2
7) Underground System
Side A: Underground System
Side B: Pansa Pansa


Availability: Out of stock